Melodic Hardcore / Post-Hardcore


  • From: San Diego, California
  • Sounds Like: Drop Dead Gorgeous, Defeater, Counterparts

Sending out an endless volley of rapid-fire barbed-wire guitar lines and howling, blast-furnace vocals, Capsize combine the anger and agility of punk rock with the blunt force of metal, laying out music that's full of sound and fury. Capsize were formed in San Diego, California in 2009 by vocalist Daniel Wand and guitarist James Kenney, both of whom were veterans of the local punk scene. Teaming with guitarist Ryan Knowles, bassist Chris Callahan, and drummer Andrew Tamayo, they called their new band Capsize, and soon recorded their first demo. A handful of EPs and singles followed -- including 2009's All Aboard, 2010's Set Sail, and 2013's Live a Burden, Die a Curse -- as well as extensive live work. In 2014, Capsize signed with the respected punk/metal label Equal Vision Records; by this time, the band's lineup had evolved, with original members Wand, Knowles, and Tamayo joined by guitarist Chris Darton and bassist Joey Toarmina, after Kenney and Callahan left the band. In April 2014, Capsize released their Equal Vision debut, the single "I'll Take the Blame," and in October 2014, the band finally dropped its first full-length album, The Angst in My Veins.


Capsize : A Reintroduction: The Essence of All That Surrounds Me
  • Latest Album:
    A Reintroduction: The Essence of All That Surrounds Me
  • Release Date:
    July 22, 2016

Band Videos

From the Blog


We Also Like